How did you make a meaningful contribution to your workplace?
I created an application which can be described as a mobile version of High Tech High North County's Website. This application was designed to be an easy tool for people with mobile devices to access things that are on the school's website like the digital portfolios and calendar.

How did your project go from an idea or inspiration to a final product?
I was first inspired to create a mobile application based on Michael and William's other applications for HTHNC. I wanted to be able to utilize my coding skills that I learned in Mr. Leader's X-Block. Gustavo gave me the idea to create a QR Code scanner that could scan the bar code stickers on the bottom of each of the school Macs, ask the user if he/she would like to email or text the teacher whom the laptop belongs to, and from there, pull up their email or texting application so they could do that. First, I researched easy ways to create that app, but none of them featured a bar code scanner. Then I researched tools where I could script an application for Android, since Gustavo, who was an Android phone, would be the only person to use it. I found an Android Developers Kit on the Android website and I played around with it. It turned out that the Android Applications that I could create with the ADK needed to be scripted in Java, a scripting language that I have not used yet. It was also too advanced for me to create such an app in three weeks.

Finally, I decided to create a "Windows 8" version of Michael and Will's HTHNC App. Since they have created HTHNC Apps for iOS and Android, I wanted my app to have a bit of the look and feel of Windows 8, but still have the links from the High Tech High North County website like the digital portfolios. My final app is a working, yet functional HTHNC Website App with the look of Windows 8.



Leave a Reply.