What qualities or characteristics did you see in the people around you that you want to develop in yourself? Why?

A lot of I.T. is working with people and especially with their computer, printer, or technical problem. My MAAC mentor, Brian, says that about 90 percent of all the technical problems he fixes while working with people are user error, and that usually settings don't change by themselves. One characteristic that I saw in the people I worked with that I want to develop in myself is patience. I want to develop patience because when you are an I.T. and you work with people, the first thing you have to do is calm the person down and tell them that you are here to fix the problem. You have to be patient with them, even if the problem is their fault.

What new appreciations did you develop while working as an intern? Why?

After working with I.T.s from a small school and a large company, I have a new appreciation for the I.T. While working with I.T.s, I got to see firsthand the problems they have to deal with, whether it was technical or people. A lot of the time it's people. I also got to experience what it was like working at an I.T. department with a lot of funding and not as much. MAAC's I.T. Department didn't have as much funding as HTHNC would have. While interning at MAAC, most of the computers we worked with where about 5 to 10 years old and ran Windows XP. Whenever we had an old computer that needed to be fixed, the first thing we decided was whether or not we can upgrade the components in the computer or salvage the parts from it. At HTHNC, whenever a school mac was missing keys or had a cracked screen, Gustavo would just open one of his large cabinets, take a part from it, and fix the broken computer so that we could still use it.



Leave a Reply.