"Self Advocacy" - the ability to speak up for yourself when you need support, when you're confused about something, or when you're uncomfortable with a situation.

How have you advocated for yourself during your internship, or seen advocacy demonstrated in other situations?

While I was trying to fix a printer, I couldn't figure out how to fix the problem. A notification popped up on the printer in the front desk. It said that there is a problem and to press "Okay" to continue, Each time I would try pressing the Okay Button on the printer, it would do its checks, checking itself for any problems like low ink or paper jam. After the normal screeching of the printer due to manufacturing of it's parts, the printer would seem fine, but the same notification would pop up saying there is a problem and to press the Okay button. I tried using what I know in order to fix some of the problems that may happen with printers. First, I checked if there were any cables left unplugged. The cables were fine as the notification had nothing to do with cables. Then I checked the ink, but I knew we had replaced them earlier that day. Next, I checked for any jams, but the fact that the parts inside were moving smoothly and that there wasn't any paper stuck in the printing mechanism was also not it. Finally, I tried to force shut down the printer. For some reason, the buttons weren't working as the printer was doing it's checks. I had to resort to unplugging the power to the printer and plug it back in to start it up. It did not work and the notification popped up again. I told one of the front desk ladies, Shelia, that I was going to ask Gustavo for some help. I walked to the IT room, peeked my head in, and said to Gustavo, "Hey, I need some help with the printer at the front desk." He knew I was the "printer guy" because I was the intern who mostly helped with the printers, but I need some help from him. Gustavo walked back with me as I explained to him that I wasn't able to figure out what was wrong with the printer. He went to the printer, read the notification, and pressed "Okay". The printer started to rattle as the inkjets inside moved back and forth. The printing mechanism screeched as gears turned, checking to see if there were any problems. The built-in scanner also moved around, checking to see if it too had any problems. Finally, all of the mechanisms came to a complete stop, signaling the end of the many self-checks. No notifications showed up, and all of the buttons were working fine. It was like Gustavo had the magic touch and fixed the printer with no stress at all. I was still amazed that Gustavo had got it working as I couldn't, but all I needed to do was ask.



Leave a Reply.